PFMLA Notification and Contribution Deadlines Extended by 3 Months

By Catherine E. Reuben, David B. Wilson, Mike Derderian, Peter J. Moser   June 14, 2019

On June 14, 2019, the Massachusetts Department of Family and Medical Leave (“DFML”) posted a new update confirming that the Massachusetts legislature and Governor Charlie Baker have enacted legislation to delay by three months (1) the date on which employers must notify their workforce of their rights and obligations under the Paid Family Medical Leave Act (“PFMLA”), and (2) the start date for employer and employee contributions to the PFML program. The workforce notification deadline is now September 30, 2019, and the contribution start date is now October 1, 2019.

In addition, to offset the shorter period for collections that will result from the three-month delay, the contribution rate will be increased from .63% to .75%. Employers that offer paid leave benefits that are at least as generous as those required under the PFMLA will also have until December 20, 2019 to apply for an exemption to the contribution obligation.

The new posting, titled Notice to Massachusetts Employers about PFML delay, is accessible at https://www.mass.gov/news/notice-to-massachusetts-employers-about-pfml-delay.

Uncertainty surrounding key aspects of the law, such as whether deductions will be taken pre- or post-tax and whether future benefits received will be taxable, had prompted advocacy groups representing businesses and employees alike to request the three-month delay. The Baker Administration is awaiting guidance from the IRS on this issue, which has not yet been resolved.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

We expect more updates to come. For additional info about the PFMLA or for compliance help, please contact any member of the HRW PFMLA team:
• Cathy Reuben: creuben@hrwlawyers.com / 617-348-4316
• Dave Wilson: dwilson@hrwlawyers.com / 617-348-4314
• Pete Moser: pmoser@hrwlawyers.com / 617-348-4323
• Mike Birch: mbirch@hrwlawyers.com / 617-348-4359
• Charlotte Petilla: cpetilla@hrwlawyers.com / 617-348-4353
• Ari Kristan: akristan@hrwlawyers.com / 617-348-4365
• Mark Macchi: mmacchi@hrwlawyers.com / 617-348-4331
• Liz Monnin-Browder: emonnin-browder@hrwlawyers.com / 617-348-4349


Download this alert as a PDF.

Thank you for reaching out to contact Hirsch Roberts Weinstein LLP (“the Firm”). Before you send your message, we wanted to make sure you are aware of the following. Please do not send any confidential information in response to this link. Sending an e-mail to the Firm or any of its attorneys does not give rise to an attorney-client relationship, and will not be deemed to disqualify the Firm from undertaking any engagement for a current or future client. Before any attorney-client engagement may be formed, the Firm will need to check for possible conflicts of interest, you will need to consider whether you wish to retain the Firm as counsel, and we will need to consider whether we wish to accept the potential engagement. In the meantime, the Firm reserves the right to represent parties with interests adverse to you.

Accept Decline